Flush DNS: What it Is and How to Clear DNS Cache

A DNS cache (Domain Name System, or DNS) is your browser’s record of all queries to a DNS Server. Your browser will ask the DNS server for the URL’s address when you enter a URL in your browser. Once your browser has received the IP address, it can load the correct website within your window.

What happens if you want to revisit the site? Is it necessary for the browser to send a completely new request to the DNS server?

No. Most operating systems will automatically cache IP addresses, and other domain name system (DNS) records to make it easier for you to respond to future requests. This is your DNS cache. This DNS cache stops browsers from having to request a new site. Instead, it can use the stored information to load it. This decreases server response time and makes the site load faster.

What is flush DNS?

Flushing DNS will remove any DNS records or IP addresses from your cache. This can resolve security and internet connectivity issues.

For example, when I type in https://lonezscents.com/ in my browser’s address bar for the first time, the browser has to ask DNS servers where to find the site. The browser can then store this information in its local cache. The browser will then look for the DNS information in its local stock and find the website faster the next time I enter it.

Sometimes, dangerous IP addresses and corrupted results may be stored in the DNS cache. These must be deleted. You may also experience problems connecting to the internet due to a DNS cache. No matter the reason, any central operating system allows you to force clear the cache or “flushing DNS.”

Your DNS cache will automatically clear out without your intervention. In addition to saving all information relevant to finding and identifying a website, the DNS cache also saves TTL (or time to live).

TTL is a period (in seconds) during which the DNS record for a website remains valid. The local cache answers any queries to the site within this time frame without the need for the DNS server. The entry will be deleted from the store once the TTL expires.

There are reasons why you need to force a DNS flush instead of waiting for the TTL to expire on all entries. Let’s look at the reasons below.

Leave a Reply